It’s been chugging away since 1892: the Brienz Rothorn Railway puffs past Alpine meadows, streams, rocks and through sparse forests above the tree line to the Brienzer Rothorn at 2351 metres above sea level. During the one-hour ride (7.6 kilometres), a breathtaking panorama over the imposing Bernese Oberland opens up – realise your dreams!

News

We are renovating for our guests! From Monday, August 29, 2022, the Mountain Hotel Rothorn Kulm and the outdoor terrace will remain closed until the end of the 2022 season. A small take-away offer and limited seating are available outside. The steam train runs according to the timetable until the end of the season. Thank you for your understanding.

20210625_0026

Tickets with seat guarantee

Please note that there may be long waiting times on peak days (holiday season and beautiful weather conditions). In order to avoid these waiting times, we recommend that you purchase the ticket with seat guarantee in advance. This gives you direct access to the platform and a guaranteed seat on the desired train.

default

Steam Sausage Excursion Train

Unique and certainly the high point to remember of any holiday. From early June we’re cooking! Wednesdays and Saturdays are Sausage Laggard days and this opportunity is not to be missed. At the intermediate stop at Planalp the locomotive-driver will serve sausages from the locomotive’s original steam kettle.

20171005_0023

Use of diesel locomotives

The BRB owns three diesel-hydrostatic locomotives, which are mainly used in railway service or for our restaurant. In the event of a high volume of guests or technical failure of a steam locomotive, diesel locomotives may be used in guest service. It is important and a matter of concern to us that we continue to run 90% of our trains with steam.

Admittedly, it's a strange idea.
But it has been working since 1892.

For almost 130 years, the Brienz Rothorn Railway has been writing its eventful history, which has been marked by many ups and downs and remains a lifetime of fond memories for generations of passengers.

Es stampft und dampft, es quietscht und qualmt: Die einzige Schweizer Zahnradbahn mit täglichem Dampfbetrieb begeistert seit 1892. Steigen Sie ein, die Brienz Rothorn Bahn bringt auch Sie auf die Höhe.

AKTUELLES

Wir bauen um für unsere Gäste! Ab Montag, 29. August 2022, bleiben deshalb das Berghaus Rothorn Kulm sowie die Aussenterrasse bis Ende Saison 2022 geschlossen. Im Aussenbereich stehen Ihnen ein kleines Take-Away Angebot und limitierte Sitzmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung. Die Dampfbahn verkehrt bis Saisonschluss fahrplanmässig. Herzlichen Dank für Ihr Verständnis.

20210625_0026

Tickets mit Sitzplatzgarantie

Bitte beachten Sie, dass es an Spitzentagen (Ferienzeit und schönes Wetter) zu langen Wartezeiten kommen kann. Um diese Wartezeiten zu umgehen, empfehlen wir Ihnen, das Ticket inkl. Sitzplatzgarantie im Voraus zu kaufen. Dieses ermöglicht Ihnen den direkten Zugang zum Perron und einen garantierten Sitzplatz im gewünschten Zug.

default

Dampfwürstlibummler

Jeden Mittwoch und jeden Samstag während unserer Saison kochen Heizerwürstli im Dampfkessel der historischen Dampflok. Bei der Mittelstation Planalp angekommen, kredenzt der Lokführer persönlich die leckeren Heizerwürstli mit Zahnstangenbrot und einem alkoholfreien Getränk. Nach der Dampfwürstli-Pause erfolgt die abwechslungsreiche Weiterfahrt bis Rothorn Kulm.

20171005_0023

Einsatz von Dieselloks

Die BRB ist im Besitz von drei dieselhydro-statischen Loks, die hauptsächlich im Bahndienst oder für unser Berghaus unterwegs sind. Bei hohem Gästeaufkommen oder technischem Ausfall einer Dampflokomotive kann es vorkommen, dass Dieselloks im Gästebetrieb eingesetzt werden. Es ist uns wichtig und ein Anliegen, dass wir weiterhin 90% unserer Züge mit Dampfloks fahren.

Zugegeben eine schräge Idee.
Aber sie zieht seit 1892.

Seit knapp 130 Jahren schreibt die Brienz Rothorn Bahn ihre bewegte Geschichte, die von viel Aufs und Abs geprägt war und für Generationen von Fahrgästen ein Leben lang in bester Erinnerung bleibt.

 

Aufgrund des aktuell sehr hohen Gästeaufkommens empfehlen wir dringend den Kauf eines Online-Tickets mit Sitzplatzgarantie für die gewünschte Zugsabfahrt. Wer das Ticket vor Ort kaufen möchte, muss mit langen Wartezeiten rechnen.
Die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Züge sind im Shop ersichtlich:
Zu unserem Ticket-Shop

Due to the currently very high number of guests, we strongly recommend purchasing an online ticket with guaranteed seating for the desired train departure. If you want to buy the ticket on the spot, you have to expect long waiting times.
The current availability of the trains can be seen in the shop:
To our ticket shop

En raison du nombre actuellement très élevé de visiteurs, nous recommandons vivement l'achat d'un billet en ligne avec garantie de siège pour le départ du train souhaité. Les personnes souhaitant acheter leur billet sur place doivent s'attendre à de longs délais d'attente.
La disponibilité actuelle des trains est visible dans la boutique :
Notre boutique de billets

Brienz Rothorn Bahn AG