It’s been chugging away since 1892: the Brienz Rothorn Railway puffs past Alpine meadows, streams, rocks and through sparse forests above the tree line to the Brienzer Rothorn at 2351 metres above sea level. During the one-hour ride (7.6 kilometres), a breathtaking panorama over the imposing Bernese Oberland opens up – realise your dreams!

News

We are renovating for our guests! From Monday, August 29, 2022, the Mountain Hotel Rothorn Kulm and the outdoor terrace will remain closed until the end of the 2022 season. A small take-away offer and limited seating are available outside. The steam train runs according to the timetable until the end of the season. Thank you for your understanding.

20210625_0026

Tickets with seat guarantee

Please note that there may be long waiting times on peak days (holiday season and beautiful weather conditions). In order to avoid these waiting times, we recommend that you purchase the ticket with seat guarantee in advance. This gives you direct access to the platform and a guaranteed seat on the desired train.

default

Steam Sausage Excursion Train

Unique and certainly the high point to remember of any holiday. From early June we’re cooking! Wednesdays and Saturdays are Sausage Laggard days and this opportunity is not to be missed. At the intermediate stop at Planalp the locomotive-driver will serve sausages from the locomotive’s original steam kettle.

20171005_0023

Use of diesel locomotives

The BRB owns three diesel-hydrostatic locomotives, which are mainly used in railway service or for our restaurant. In the event of a high volume of guests or technical failure of a steam locomotive, diesel locomotives may be used in guest service. It is important and a matter of concern to us that we continue to run 90% of our trains with steam.

Admittedly, it's a strange idea.
But it has been working since 1892.

For almost 130 years, the Brienz Rothorn Railway has been writing its eventful history, which has been marked by many ups and downs and remains a lifetime of fond memories for generations of passengers.

Depuis 1892, il est à la vapeur et au timbre: l’essoufflement du chemin de fer de Brienz Rothorn le long des prairies alpines, des ruisseaux, des rochers et à travers les forêts clairsemées au-dessus de la limite des arbres jusqu’au Brienzer Rothorn, à 2351 mètres d’altitude. Pendant le voyage d’environ une heure (7,6 kilomètres), un panorama à couper le souffle sur l’imposant Oberland bernois – goûtez au bonheur parfait !

Actuel

Nous rénovons pour nos hôtes ! À partir du lundi 29 août 2022, l’auberge d’altitude Rothorn Kulm et la terrasse extérieure resteront fermés jusqu’à la fin de la saison 2022. Une petite offre à emporter et des places limitées sont disponibles à l’extérieur. Le train à vapeur circule selon les horaires jusqu’à la fin de la saison. Merci pour votre compréhension.

20210625_0026

Billet avec garantie de siège

Veuillez noter que les jours de pointe (période de vacances et beau temps), les temps d’attente peuvent être longs. Pour éviter ces temps d’attente, nous vous recommandons d’acheter à l’avance le billet avec garantie de siège. Celui-ci vous donne un accès direct à la plateforme et bénéficier d’une place assise garantie dans le train de votre choix.

default

Tortillard à vapeur avec saucisses

Tous les mercredis et tous les samedis de notre saison, des saucisses de chauffe cuisent dans la chaudière à vapeur de la locomotive à vapeur historique. Une expérience culinaire très raffinée est proposée durant le voyage dans le tortillard à vapeur avec les saucisses. Après la pause, le voyage se poursuit jusqu’à Rothorn Kulm.

20171005_0023

Utilisation de locomotives diesel

Le BRB possède trois locomotives diesel qui circulent principalement en service ferroviaire ou pour notre refuge. En cas de forte affluence il peut arriver que des locomotives diesel soient utilisées pour le service des visiteurs. Il est important pour nous de continuer à faire circuler 90% de nos trains avec des locomotives à vapeur.

Une idée bizarre, il est vrai.
Mais elle fait mouche depuis 1892.

Depuis près de 130 ans, le chemin de fer Brienz Rothorn écrit son histoire mouvementée, marquée par de nombreux hauts et bas, dont des générations de passagers se souviendront toute leur vie.